Old Singapore map (28 postal districts)


YEE Weng Hong
Yee, Weng Hong

This old map of Singapore shows the country divided into 28 postal districts. The 28 postal districts have now been replaced by a system that assigns each block of flat and each landed property a unique postal code, which made the sorting and delivery of mail much easier. Though no longer in offical use, the 28 postal districts are still used occasionally by property agents to divide Singapore. For example, 
District 1 - Chinatown, Marina
District 2 - CBD
District 3 - Queenstown
District 4 - Telok Blangah
District 5 - Pasir Panjang
District 6 - City Hall
District 7 - Bugis
District 8 - Little India
District 9 - Orchard
District 10 - Tanglin
District 11 - Bukit Timah 
District 12 - Toa Payoh
District 13 - Potong Pasir
District 14 - Eunos
District 15 - Katong
District 16 - Upper East Coast etc.
In this old map, Sentosa is still known as "绝后岛", Ang Mo Kio was "红毛桥村", Bishan was "Kampong San Teng", Singapore University was situated at Bukit Timah Road, the reservoirs were smaller than they are now, the airport was at Paya Lebar, and Nee Soon Village was situated at Thong Bee Road.